The Frank Homan Award

The Frank Homan Award is presented annually to an individual who has demonstrated an outstanding contribution to the improvement or application of administrative law. 

Only Administrative Law Section members can nominate, but a nominee does not have to be an attorney or a section member. 
Nominations for the 2017 Award are now closed. The due date for the 2017 Award was June 30, 2017. For future nominations, send an email to Please include:

  • Your name and contact information
  • Information about the person being nominated (name, position, affiliation)
  • Why you think this person should be recognized

The award is named for Frank Homan, a dedicated teacher and mentor who was passionate about improving the law. After receiving his law degree from Cleveland State University of Law in 1965, he began practicing in Washington in 1968, serving as an Employment Security Department hearings examiner from 1970 to 1974 and as a senior administrative law judge at the Office of Administrative Hearings from 1975 to 1993. He continued to serve as an ALJ pro tem after his retirement in 1993. He was an early proponent for the creation of a central hearings panel, and played an important role in the creation of the Office of Administrative Hearings (RCW 34.12). 

Frank was generous with his time and expertise and is well-remembered for his sense of humor, his command of the English language, and his writing style — including his knowledge of legal terminology and history. His commitment to promoting justice for all and the practice of administrative law is the inspiration for the award that bears his name.

Prior Recipients

2016 — John F. Kuntz
2015 — Ramsey Ramerman
2015 — Eric Stahl
2013 — Alan D. Copsey
2011 — Larry A. Weiser 
2010 — Jeffrey Goltz
2008 — Kristal Wiitala
2007 — C. Dean Little
2006 — William R. Andersen
2005 — Bob Wallis