MCLE Information for Members

All active members, judicial members classified as ALJs, military lawyers admitted under APR 8(g) and house counsel admitted under APR 8(f) must earn:

  • 45 total MCLE approved credits every three years
  • At least 15 law and legal procedure credits
  • At least 6 ethics credits

Your MCLE roster will tell you your three-year reporting period in which you must earn the credits. You must earn your credits by Dec. 31 of the third year of your reporting period. You must certify your MCLE credits by Feb. 1 of the following year.

You may carry over up to 15 excess credits, including two ethics credits, to the next reporting period.

 

Reporting Group Admission Year Reporting Period
Group 1

1975 or earlier
1991
1994
1997
2000
2003
2006
2009
2012
2015*
2016*

2014–2016

2017–2019*

Group 2

1976–1983
1992
1995
1998
2001
2004
2007
2010
2013
2017*

2015–2017

2018–2020*

Group 3

1984–1990
1993
1996
1999
2002
2005
2008
2011
2014
2018*

2016–2018

2019–2021*

For the admission years marked with an asterisk (*) please refer to the reporting period also marked with an asterisk (*) in your reporting group.

 

Accessing Your MCLE Roster

Login to myWSBA.org to access your MCLE roster. You will find a link to MCLE under “My Profile."

Searching for Approved Courses to Take

Use the “Find CLEs” link to find an approved live or recorded course to take.

Adding an Activity to Your Roster

Use the “Add an Activity” link to add an activity to your roster.

You can also complete and submit an application for approval of a CLE activity via email or mail.  To submit via email send the complete form to mcle@wsba.org or by mail to Washington State Bar Association MCLE Team, 1325 Fourth Ave., Suite 600, Seattle, WA 98101.

Submitting an Application for MCLE Credit

Sponsors will usually submit attendance for live activities. For activities that are not already approved by the sponsor, submit an application for credit for an activity using the "Add Activity" link.

Certifying or Reporting Your MCLE Credits

You must certify MCLE compliance by Feb. 1 of the year following your three-year reporting period.

You will need to pay a late fee if credits are not earned by Dec. 31 or you do not certify by the deadline.

The late fee for the first reporting period of non-compliance is $150 and increases by $300 for each consecutive reporting period of non-compliance.

You may pay your late fee online:

  • Access your online MCLE roster page.
  • Click the "Pay Late Fee Online" link at the bottom of your roster page.
  • Fill in the fields in the "Payment Information" section of the screen.
  • Click "Make Payment"

Certifying by Comity for Members Licensed in Oregon, Idaho, or Utah

Submit the following to the WSBA:

  • a Comity Certificate of Compliance from Oregon, Idaho or Utah
  • a $25 comity fee payable to the WSBA

Have Questions or Need Assistance?

MCLE Portal Guide for Members

Please contact an MCLE analyst at 206-733-5987 or mcle@wsba.org.

MCLE Rules

APR 11 and Regulations to APR 11 were effective through Dec. 31, 2015. All members with a reporting period ending on Dec. 31, 2015, must meet the credit requirements under these rules.

A new APR 11 went into effect on Jan. 1, 2016. All members, except those who are not yet compliant for the 2013–2015 or earlier reporting periods, must meet the credit requirements under the new rule.

MyWSBA

Login to view your MCLE roster