Credit Compliance for Reporting Periods 2013-15 or Earlier
WSBA members are divided into three MCLE reporting groups based upon year of admission. (Newly admitted members are exempt)
Group 1: Admitted through 1975, 1991, 1994, 1997, 2000, 2003, 2006, 2009 and 2012
Group 2: Admitted in 1976 through 1983, 1992, 1995, 1998, 2001, 2004, 2007, 2010 and 2013
Group 3: Admitted in 1984 through 1990, 1993, 1996, 1999, 2002, 2005, 2008, 2011 and 2014
Newly admitted members are exempt from completing and certifying CLE credits for the year of their admission and the following calendar year. For example, if you were admitted in 2011, you would not complete and certify credits for this reporting period (2010-2012) even though you are in Group 3. You would first do these at the end of the 2013–2015 reporting period. Members admitted in 2012 will do these at the end of the 2014–2016 reporting period. Members admitted in 2013 will first do these at the end of the 2015–2017 reporting period. When new members report at the end of their first reporting period, they may claim all CLE credits earned on or after their date of admission to the WSBA.
Back to top
Back to top
Carry-over credits from the previous reporting period may be used to meet the requirements of the current reporting period. If the total of your current reporting period credits exceeds 45, you may carry-over a maximum of 15 credits towards your next reporting period. Of these 15 credits, up to two can be ethics credits and up to five can be A/V credits. No credits will be carried over if a Comity Certificate of MCLE Compliance from a comity state is used for compliance certification.
Back to top
All active members due to certify MCLE compliance are required to:
Your online roster showing credit compliance is not a substitute for certifying MCLE compliance [APR 11.6(b)]. You must complete the Online Certification or complete and submit the paper Mandatory Continuing Legal Education Certification (C2) form that is in your license packet.
If this is your reporting period, and if you have met the reporting credit requirements, online MCLE certification is available:
Note: On your Licensing Renewal and MCLE Certification (C2) Page:
If you are certifying via comity you cannot certify online. Submit your Comity Certificate of MCLE Compliance form with a paper C2 form.
If you do not want to certify online or are not credit compliant, you can file your Mandatory Continuing Legal Education Certification (C2) form. It lists CLE activity credits earned for your Reporting Period credit compliance.
Back to top
Late fees are assessed when:
The late fee for the first reporting period of non-compliance is $150 and increases by $300 for each consecutive reporting period of non-compliance.
You may pay your late fee online if you will be paying your late fee in full.
To make a partial payment you must either
If you are an Active member of the WSBA and your primary office for the practice of law is outside of Washington, and if you are a member of the Oregon, Idaho, or Utah state bars ("comity" states), you may meet your Washington MCLE credit requirements via comity [APR 11 Regulation 112].
To do this, three requirements must be met no later than February 1 following the end of your reporting period. You will not be deemed compliant in Washington until all are completed.
Your Washington state and your comity state reporting periods do not need to be identical. To meet compliance requirements in Washington your Comity Certificate of MCLE Compliance from the comity state must show that you met the MCLE compliance requirements for your most recent reporting period in that state.
Note: A "Certificate of Good Standing" or a list of courses taken to meet your comity state's credit compliance requirements is not acceptable for fulfilling the comity requirements.
A "Comity Certificate of MCLE Compliance" – signed by the state MCLE administrator – may be obtained by contacting the MCLE offices in the states listed below:
Oregon – Denise Cline, MCLE Administrator, at firstname.lastname@example.org or at 503-620-0222, or toll-free in Oregon 800-452-8260, ext. 315.
Idaho – The Membership Department at 208-334-4500 or email@example.com.
Utah – The Utah MCLE Department at 801-531-9077 or firstname.lastname@example.org.
All courses that you list on your C2 form must be Washington MCLE-Board approved and have an Activity ID number. This number is listed in your online MCLE roster and is assigned at the time of application. A "Certificate of Attendance" or other sponsor-provided certification is not sufficient for receiving course credit.
If you have taken courses that are not yet approved by the MCLE Board, submit Form 1s for these courses immediately to ensure that they are approved before your certification is due.
Each Form 1 application must include a full agenda in order to receive credit. The agenda must include the start and end times for each session and break.
You must submit your Form 1 at least six weeks before your certification is due (four weeks for online Form 1s) because of high volumes from October through February. If you submit a paper Form 1, check your online MCLE roster to find its Activity ID number once it has been approved.
If you submit your Form 1(s) less than six weeks before your certification is due (four weeks for online Form 1s), you must submit the paper MCLE Certification (C2) form that is in your license packet. List all the credits that you have earned. Add a note that you have submitted the Form 1s. Indicate if you submitted the Form 1s by paper or online.
Six pro bono credits can be earned per year. [APR 11 Regulation 103(f)] Of the six credits, two are for the required annual pro bono training. Four credits may be earned per year for pro bono service credits if at least four hours of pro bono work were provided through a qualified legal services provider and if two credits of MCLE Board-approved pro bono training were completed within the same calendar year.
Apply for credit for the pro bono training following the normal process for adding an approved course to your online roster. If the course has not yet been approved, you may submit an online Form 1 in the same way as you would for any other Live or A/V program. If you prefer not to use an online process, you may submit a paper Form 1.
Apply for pro bono service credit online or by a paper Form 1:
Online — Submitting a pro bono training Form 1 and the Pro Bono Credit Form 1 online is the preferred method, with a greatly expedited approval time relative to paper submissions.
Paper Form 1 — Print out a standard Form 1 application. Paper Form 1s take much longer to process than online applications. You should use the following guide for adapting the standard Form 1 application to request pro bono credit.
Note: For both paper and online Form 1 applications related to pro bono service, the sponsor listed must be recognized by the WSBA as a Qualified Legal Services Provider as defined in APR 8(e)(2). If your prerequisite training was completed by mentoring another attorney, enter "Pro Bono Training – Mentor" as the activity's Title and include the name of the mentored attorney within the "Agenda and Time Schedule" field (in addition to the actual time schedule and topics covered in the mentoring).
Contact a Qualified Legal Services Provider to earn CLE credit through pro bono activities, or to find out about approved live and A/V pro bono training programs. Many pro bono trainings and volunteer opportunities are available through the King County Bar Association’s Pro Bono Services Volunteer Attorneys program. Additional information about Pro Bono and Public Service Opportunities click here.
For further assistance contact the Public Service Program at 206-733-5905 or e-mail email@example.com, or our Service Center at 206-443-WSBA (9722), 800-945-WSBA (9722), or email firstname.lastname@example.org.
You may use the online MCLE system to:
To access the MCLE system:
Back to top
C2 forms for previous reporting periods are only kept for a short time. If your C2 form is still on-site at the WSBA, the fee for a copy is $10. If it has been sent to off-site storage, the fee for a copy is $25. Please contact the WSBA Service Center at 800-945-9722, 206-443-9722, or email@example.com and ask to speak with an MCLE Analyst. The Analyst will be able to tell you if we still have your form and, if so, whether it is on-site or at off-site storage.
If the MCLE Analyst confirms that we still have the form, please send a written request for your C2 form to the WSBA and remit the appropriate fee (payable to WSBA). Mail to MCLE C2 form Request, Washington State Bar Association, 1325 4th Avenue #600, Seattle, WA 98101-2539.
If you have any questions about using the MCLE System or about the MCLE Compliance Requirements, see the online FAQs, or contact the WSBA Service Center at 800-945-WSBA (9722), 206-443-WSBA (9722), or firstname.lastname@example.org.
Any discrepancy or conflict between the information provided here and the rules and regulations set by the Washington State Supreme Court, or the bylaws and policies of the Washington State Bar Association, is unintentional and will be resolved in favor of strict compliance with the rules, regulations, bylaws and policies.
Login to view your MCLE roster
How do I get a course or seminar approved for MCLE credit?
2010-2012 Reporting Requirements Info-Sheet 2011-2013 Reporting Requirements Info-Sheet 2012-2014 Reporting Requirements Info-Sheet
2013-2015 Reporting Requirements Info-Sheet
© 2016 Washington State Bar Association, all rights reserved.