WSBA's Trial Advocacy Program

Train and practice with support from litigation experts and judges... when the results don't count

The annual WSBA Trial Advocacy Program (TAP) offers a two-day trial-skills training from seasoned trial lawyers and a one-day mock trial two weeks later. This seminar is designed for attorneys working in the criminal or civil arena with little to no trial experience but a strong desire to become effective trial lawyers. Past participants commented that the seminar was "completely engaging and thought-provoking" and "entertaining, real-world skill development that every new lawyer should attend."

Past TAP seminar topics include:

  • Trial Ethics 
  • Trial Notebook and Organization 
  • Objections and Motions in Limine 
  • Voir Dire 
  • Opening and Closing Statements 
  • Direct and Cross Examination 

Watch for the dates: TAP is held in the fall. 

Volunteer to be a TAP Mock Trial Juror

The trials are conducted by new lawyers and presided over by current court judges. Being a volunteer juror gives you the chance to view a trial as juror and support a new lawyers' real-world skill development as they argue either a mock criminal or civil case. Your participation is important to the success of TAP and greatly appreciated! To be notified when volunteer positions open, email


Send email to 

Tap Volunteer Thank You

WSBA Thanks the following volunteers for their hard work in support the Trial Advocacy Program.

Steering Committee Members:
Kate Allison
Emily Arneson
Amanda Davis
Paul Dec
Emily Foss
Nikki Gasper
Claire Kinantar
Marti McCaleb
Joseph Terrenzio
Rives White
Oscar Yang

Seminar Faculty:
Todd Gardner
Sims Weymuller
Ben Carr
Craig Sims
James Gooding
Thomas Breen
Alexis Foster
Hon. Jack Nevin
Portia Moore
Felix Luna

Volunteer Judges:
Hon. Sam Cozza
Hon. Aimee Maurer
Hon. John Strohmaier
Hon. Judith Ramseyer
Hon. Beth Andrus
Hon. Janet Garrow
Hon. Michael Finkle


Click here to Complete the TAP Scholarship Application

Applications must be submitted by 5 p.m. on Oct. 2, 2015.

Any questions? Please email