Updated: Jan. 2, 2018

Juvenile Law Section

The Juvenile Law Sections creates a venue and an opportunity for a broad representation of juvenile justice and child welfare participants to work on systems improvements that impact children, youth and their families. Unlike a bar committee, a bar section allows for broader participation and may include non-lawyer professionals who work with juveniles or on juvenile-justice issues. The Juvenile Law Section provides a name which is broad enough to encompass the many different areas of practice involving children and youth. The section’s intent is to be inclusive of defenders, prosecutors, attorneys general, court appointed special advocates, civil legal aid attorneys, judges, service providers and law students to allow for cross-system training and collaboration, which can lead to improved outcomes for young people, their families and the community.

Areas of legal practice the section address include child welfare, juvenile justice, status offenses, immigration as it relates to children and families, truancy, at-risk-youth and child in need of services proceedings, as well as a variety of civil legal needs of youth.

Joining the section for one year involves a $30 membership fee. Join today

Annual Report
Info Sheet

SAVE THE DATE: The JLS annual meeting is tentatively set for Friday, Oct. 6, 2017. 

Please consider joining one of our committees

  • Dependency/Child Welfare 
  • Civil Legal Needs 
  • Juvenile Offender  
  • Legislative  

Executive Committee

Co-ChairDaewoo Kim (2016-2018)
Co-ChairJana Heyd (2015-2017)
Secretary/Treasurer: Carrie Wayno (2015-2017)
BOG LiaisonBrian Tollefson*
Young Lawyer Liaison: vacant* 

Legislative Liaison

Dan Ophardt (2015-2018)
Hillary Madsen (2016-2018)

CLE/Outreach Coordinator

Sonja Jacobsen (2016-2018)

Child Welfare Sub-Committee Co-Chairs

Rachel Rappaport (2016-2018)
D'Adre Cunningham (2016-2018)

Civil Legal Needs Sub-Committee Co-Chairs

Lindsay Lennox (2016-2018)
Bonnie Linville (2016-2018)

Juvenile Offender Sub-Committee Co-Chairs

Alexandra Narvaez (2015-2018)
Shawn Sant (2015-2018)

At-Large Members

Brandon Stallings (2015-2018)
Lauren Roddy (2015-2018)

Law School Representatives

Katherine Nyden, University of Washington School of Law* (2016-2019)
Vy Nguyen, Seattle University School of Law* (2016-2019)
Savannah Williams, Seattle University School of Law* (2016-2019)

*Non-voting member

Please contact subcommittee member for details on their upcoming meeting dates and locations.

To join the section list serve and for general section questions, please send your email address and Bar number to sections@wsba.org. For more information and to get involved with the section, contact the section co-chairs, Daewoo Kim and Jana Heyd.