Updated: Oct. 11, 2018

APEX logo

The 2018 APEX Awards

WSBA is proud to announce this year’s lineup of outstanding APEX Award winners. APEX stands for Acknowledging Professional Excellence. The awards honor legal luminaries across the state who champion justice, act with integrity and professionalism, and serve the public and their communities through the rule of law.

APEX Award Categories and Descriptions

The 2018 APEX Awards were presented at a ceremony and dinner on Sept. 27 at the Sheraton Hotel in downtown Seattle.

View a gallery of photos from the event.

Meet the Recipients of the 2018 APEX Awards

Angelo Petruss Award for Lawyers in Government Service

Leslie E. Reardanz III. Capt. Les Reardanz III is a U.S. Navy Reserve JAG (currently deployed in Afghanistan in support of Rule of Law operations) and CEO of the Port of Everett. He seamlessly integrates his family, professional, and military lives with utmost professionalism and grace.

Award of Merit

Spokane Community Court. The Spokane Community Court seeks to reduce and properly address quality of life offenses in downtown Spokane by utilizing a collaborative, problem-solving approach to crime.

Justice Charles Z. Smith Excellence in Diversity Award

Hon. Bonnie J. Glenn. Judge Glenn has spent her entire career advancing diversity in the legal profession, including having led the Justice Commission’s Workforce Diversity Committee for over a decade.

Legal Innovation Award

Project Safety. Project Safety is a collaboration between six King County agencies with a goal to provide crime victims with legal assistance to resolve civil legal issues and help victims stabilize their lives.

Lifetime Service Award

Milton G. Rowland. Attorney Milton Rowland has practiced civil litigation for more than 30 years, and perhaps his most enduring legacy will be as Law Professor at Gonzaga and serving as a resource for the substance-abuse issues facing the legal profession.

Norm Maleng Leadership Award

Joan Kleinberg. Joan Kleinberg’s career in civil litigation spans 40 years, and she is recognized as the creator of the phone line at the core of the state’s centralized legal intake/delivery system and a developer of the case management system adopted by all state civil-legal aid providers.

Outstanding Judge Award

Hon. Bruce A. Spanner. Judge Spanner presides in Superior Court in Benton and Franklin Counties, where he is devoted to equal justice under the law without passion or prejudices and deeply involved in his community.

Outstanding Young Lawyer Award

Annalise Martucci. In just a few short years, Annalise Martucci has become an active member of the bar in Whatcom and Skagit counties, volunteering with the Whatcom Street Law program and the Skagit County Chapter of Washington Women Lawyers, among many other leadership and volunteer positions.

Pro Bono and Public Service Award (Individual)

Edwardo "Eddie" Morfin. Eddie Morfin practices personal injury law and provides many pro bono services to clients; in addition he has volunteered with the Latino/a Bar Association’s legal clinics, Northwest Justice Project, Northwest Immigrant Rights Project, and Washington State Commission on Hispanic Affairs.

Pro Bono and Public Service Award (Group)

Law Offices of Carol L. Edward. This four-person firm in Mount Vernon and Seattle was instrumental in developing DACA clinics to provide clients with information about and review of immigration documents.

Professionalism Award

Mark Johnson. Mark Johnson is committed to making our profession better by making lawyers better; he has served in many statewide leadership positions, provides widely attended CLEs about professionalism, and is a trustee for the Legal Foundation of Washington.

Photo Gallery

APEX Award Categories and Descriptions

Award of Merit
This award is the Bar's highest honor and is given to an individual for a recent, singular achievement. The singular achievement may involve an individual who has displayed exceptional courage in the face of adversity, thus bringing credit to the legal profession. It is awarded to individuals only – both legal professionals and members of the public.

Angelo Petruss Award for Lawyers in Government Service
Named in honor of Angelo R. Petruss, a senior assistant attorney general who passed away during his term of service on the WSBA Board of Governors, this award is given to a lawyer in government service who has made a significant contribution to the legal profession, the justice system, and the public.

The Justice Charles Z. Smith Excellence in Diversity Award
This award is made to a lawyer, law firm, or law-related group that has made a significant contribution to diversity in the legal profession.

Legal Innovation Award
This award recognizes legal professionals, law firms, courts, law schools, individuals, or organizations who demonstrate leadership in promoting innovation in the practice of law. Innovation may be defined as programs, processes, or technology that advance or streamline the future of the profession and accessibility/delivery of legal services.

Lifetime Service Award
This award is a special award given for a lifetime of service to the legal community and the public.

Norm Maleng Leadership Award
This award is given jointly by the WSBA and the Access to Justice Board, in honor of the late King County Prosecutor Norm Maleng's legacy as a leader. He was an innovative and optimistic leader committed to justice and access to justice in both civil and criminal settings. Within the profession, his leadership was characterized by his love of the law and commitment to diversity and mentorship. This award recognizes those who embody these qualities.

Outstanding Judge Award
This award is presented for outstanding service to the bench and for special contribution to the legal profession at any level of the court.

Outstanding Young Lawyer Award
This award recognizes one attorney who has made significant contributions to the professional community, especially the community of young lawyers, within their initial years of practice. Recipients must be active WSBA members within five years of admission to any bar association or less than 36 years of age.

Pro Bono and Public Service Awards
These awards are presented to an individual, a lawyer, other legal professional, law firm, or other legal entity for outstanding cumulative efforts in providing pro bono services or who gives back in meaningful ways to the public, the community, or to the legal profession. Nominations will be considered in two categories: 1) for an individual, or solo or small firm practitioner; 2) for a multi-person law firm or organization.

Professionalism Award
This honor is awarded to a WSBA member who exemplifies the spirit of professionalism in the practice of law, as defined in the WSBA's Creed of Professionalism.

Sally P. Savage Leadership in Philanthropy Award
Sally Savage led the Bar Foundation’s renaissance and was a catalyst for its refocused mission to sustain the WSBA’s effort to advance justice and diversity. Her clarity, expertise and vision helped establish a path for enduring support of a strong bar association that provides statewide leadership on matters of profound importance to the profession and the citizenry. Sally’s spirit of generosity and leadership continue to inspire all who recognize the transformative potential of philanthropy. Philanthropy means “love of humanity” and focuses on private initiatives for the public good, focusing on quality of life. Sally Savage emulated this spirit of philanthropy in her life, and it is in her memory that we continue to honor donors, volunteers and friends of the Washington State Bar Foundation who embody Sally’s spirit.