

# WSBA Board of Governors Nominations Committee June 21, 2017

# Minutes

Present: Brad Furlong, chair; Bill Pickett\*; Mario Cava\*, Ann Danieli; Chris Meserve\*, Andrea Jarmon\*; Pam Inglesby, WSBA staff liaison

Not present: James Doane, Dan Bridges.

\* by telephone

The following actions were taken by the Board of Governors' Nominations Committee.

1. May 2017 meeting minutes were approved.

2. The following individuals were appointed to the ABA House of Delegates: Jaime Hawk, RaShelle Davis, Amber Rush (young lawyer position), and Kathleen Hopkins (alternate position).

3. Changes were made to earlier appointments:

- Benjamin Carr's term on the Council on Public Defense was changed from 10/1/17-9/30/19 to immediately-9/30/18. (He is filling a vacant position.)
- The starting date of new appointees to the Board of Bar Examiners was changed from 10/1/17 to 7/1/17.

4. Appointments were made to the following WSBA committees and boards. (See attached for details.)

- Character & Fitness Board
- Continuing Legal Education Committee
- Council on Public Defense (correction)
- Court Rules & Procedures Committee
- Judicial Recommendation Committee
- Lawyers' Fund for Client Protection Board
- Washington Young Lawyers Committee (correction)
- WSBA Diversity Committee

6. Nominations were reviewed for the following Supreme Court boards and panels. (See attached for details.) The Supreme Court will make the appointments.

- Disciplinary Board those recommended by the Disciplinary Selection Panel were nominated
- Limited License Legal Technician Board no action was required or taken
- Limited Practice Board no action was required or taken

# **Board of Governors Nominations Committee**

Actions taken June 21, 2017

## **WSBA Appointments:**

# Character & Fitness Board

Lisa Marsh

#### **Continuing Legal Education Committee**

Andrew James Asplund Claire Louise Keeley Adam Joseph McGerty Jeff Sbaih Madison Hillary Teofilak Aimee Louise Trua

#### **Council on Public Defense**

Deborah Ahrens Judge Drew Henke Marc A. Boman (advisory member) Robert C. Boruchowitz (advisory member) Jon E. Ostlund (advisory member)

## **Court Rules & Procedures Committee**

Jody Kris Cloutier

## Judicial Recommendation Committee Kristin D. Shotwell Andrew Hubbard Fuller (alternate)

Lawyers' Fund for Client Protection Board Dana C. Laverty Carrie D. Umland

Washington Young Lawyers Committee Zachary Davidson Tpinder Kim Sandher (Chair-elect)

#### WSBA Diversity Committee

Mubarak F Abdur Raheem Jennifer Anne Cruz Linda Sophia Fang Roger L. Hillman Jennifer Lorraine Lamari Ailene M. Limric

## **Nominations to Supreme Court:**

Disciplinary Board – recommended by Disciplinary Selection Panel Jenny Allen Michelle Harrington Todd A. Wildermuth (alternate)

#### Limited License Legal Technician Board -

nominated by the LLLT Board Tierra A Busby Nancy Carol Ivarinen Andrea Samonica Jarmon Jennifer Leigh Peterson **Limited Practice Board** – *nominated by the LP Board* Jim Blair

# **External Appointments:**

American Bar Association House of Delegates RaShelle Davis Jaime Hawk Amber Rush Kathleen J. Hopkins (alternate)