Updated: Oct. 1, 2021

LGBT Law Section

The Lesbian Gay Bisexual Transgender Law Section strives to:

  • Support understanding among WSBA members of the legal needs of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender residents of Washington
  • Assist LGBT residents and those who represent them
  • Better understand how their legal needs can be met
  • Support research, education, and collaboration by section members on issues of sexual orientation and gender identification
  • Promote the study of LGBT law and report on changing law and regulations as they affect LGBT people and communities
  • Assist in legislative work undertaken within the scope of GR 12
  • Act as a liaison between the WSBA, its Board of Governors, LGBT organizations, and the public

Annual Report  |  Budget  |  Bylaws  |  Year in Review  |  LGBT Law Resources


in Now

Executive Committee

ChairPeder Punsalan-Teigen (2021-2022)


Immediate Past Chair: Kelsey Kittleson (2021-2022) 

TreasurerJonathan McCoy (2021-2022) 

SecretarySam Gouveia (2021-2022) 

Young Lawyer Liaison*Jesse Taylor (2020-2022)

Board of Governors Liaison*: Brent Williams-Ruth

At-Large Members
Joann Pheasant (2021-2023)

Mike Ryan (2021-2023)

Catherine Hardison (2020-2022)

Sierra Ogasawara (2020-2022)

Megan Dawson (2020-2022)

*Nonvoting member

The WSBA LGBT Law Section Executive Committee generally conducts meetings 4$ndash;5 p.m. on the third Tuesday of each month. You may attend by phone by calling 866-577-9294 and using the passcode 5016523#. Please contact committee member for specific details on their upcoming meeting dates and locations.

Join Our List Serve

To join the section list serve and for general questions, please send your email address and Bar number to sections@wsba.org. For more information and to get involved with the section, please contact Section Chair Kelsey Kittleson.