Updated: April 24, 2019

Business Law Section

The Business Law Section is committed to providing services that its members value, operating in a fiscally responsible manner, and enhancing the professional collegiality among all Washington business lawyers. Section members have access to certain restricted portions of this website, such as the Current Developments and Legislation pages. Members are also entitled to attend section events, participate on the Business Law Section list serve, and receive a semiannual newsletter and other publications prepared from time to time, including a sourcebook containing in-depth comments and legislative history on the Business Corporation Act (RCW 23B) and a report on opinion letter practice in Washington.

Annual Report  |  Budget  |  Bylaws  |  Year in Review  |  Third-Party Legal Opinions

Executive Committee Elections Begin in May

For information about the Section and its Executive Committee roles, please review the Section’s bylaws. The following open positions are for one year terms, beginning Oct. 1, 2019, and ending Sept. 30, 2020.

  • Chair
  • Chair-elect
  • Treasurer
  • Secretary
  • At-Large Member (two positions open)
  • Corporate Act Revision Committee Co-chairs (two positions open)
  • Financial Institutions Committee Chair 
  • Communications Committee Chair
  • Law of Commerce in Cyberspace Committee Chair
  • Legal Opinions Committee Chair
  • Partnership & LLC Law Committee Co-chairs (two positions open)
  • Nonprofit Corporations Committee Chair
  • Securities Law Committee Chair
  • Uniform Commercial Code Committee Co-chairs (two positions open)

Alternative Nomination Process

Per section bylaws: Other nominations for the same positions, whether self-nominations or nominations for others, may be made by anyone participating at the annual meeting of the Section, provided that such nominees are, both at the time of nomination and for a continuous period of one year prior to the nomination, Voting Members of the Section.

Elections will be conducted via SurveyMonkey. To ensure you receive a ballot, please click here and/or adjust your spam filters/firewalls to ensure your email address will receive the ballot.


Feel free to contact any member of the current Section Executive Committee or email sections@wsba.org.

Members-only Resources


Publications & Newsletters


Spring 2019 Newsletter

Fall 2018 Newsletter

Spring 2018 Newsletter

Securities-Based Crowdfunding Scorecard (Fall 2016)

Executive Committee

Chair: David Eckberg

Chair-ElectJason Cruz

SecretaryChristopher Greene

TreasurerDiane Lourdes Dick

Immediate Past ChairAndrew Steen

Prior Chairs

Young Lawyer LiaisonPaul Barrera*

Board of Governors Liaison: Athan Papailiou*

Members At-Large
Steven Reilly
James Wriston

Section Committees

Communications Committee
Deirdre Glynn Levin

Corporate Act Revision Committee
Michael Hutchings and Eric A. DeJong

Financial Institutions Committee
Joan E. Robinson

Law of Commerce in Cyberspace Committee
: Alex Modelski

Legal Opinions Committee
Scott MacCormack

Nonprofit Corporations Committee
Judith Andrews

Partnerships and LLC Law Committee
Elisabeth Yandell McNeil and Doug Batey

Securities Law Committee
Mark Beatty

Uniform Commercial Code Committee
Gregory Fox and Mark Patterson

*Non-voting members

Please contact subcommittee members for details on their upcoming meeting dates and locations.

Join Our List Serve

To join the section list serve and for general section questions, please send your email address and Bar number to sections@wsba.org. For more information and to get involved with the section, please contact Section Chair David Eckberg.