Updated: July 30, 2020

Criminal Law Section

The Criminal Law Section seeks the participation of the Bar, including prosecutors and defense counsel, by providing a forum for the exchange of ideas in the areas of criminal law, correction, procedure, and evidence. The section works with pending legislation and development of statutory enactments to improve and facilitate the administration of justice within the criminal arena.

With an equal number of defense and prosecuting attorney positions, the executive board champions the rights of both the accused and victims in the criminal justice system. Activities include publishing a newsletter, as well as assisting with the Criminal Law Institute.

Annual Report  |  Budget  |  Bylaws  |  Year in Review

Join Now

Congratulations, Incoming Executive Committee Members!

Below are the results of the Criminal Law Section Executive Committee election. Thank you for voting!

For more information about the Section and its executive committee roles, please read the Section's bylaws. Candidates listed in alphabetical order by position.

Chair-elect: one-year position beginning Oct. 1, 2020, and ending Sept. 30, 2021.

Josephine Townsend

Secretary/Treasurer: one-year position beginning Oct. 1, 2020, and ending Sept. 30, 2021.

Angelle Marie Gerl

At-Large Member-Defense (two positions open): three-year position beginning Oct. 1, 2020, and ending Sept. 30, 2023.

Kelsey Page

John Strait

At-Large Member-Defense: two year position beginning Oct. 1, 2020, and ending Sept. 30, 2022.

Nicholas Holce

At-Large Member-Prosecution (two positions open): three-year position beginning Oct. 1, 2020, and ending Sept. 30, 2023. 

Angelle Marie Gerl

Daniel LeBeau


Feel free to contact any member of the current Section Executive Committee or email sections@wsba.org.

NEW Criminal Caselaw Notebook for Free

As a benefit to Criminal Law Section members, you can download the Criminal Caselaw Notebook 2019, prepared by the Honorable Ron Kessler.  If you are having trouble accessing the documents, contact sections@wsba.org.


May 2016  │  January 2016  │  January 2015

Archived issues are available to section members upon request. To request an issue, please email sections@wsba.org.

Executive Committee

Terms run Oct. 1, 2019–Sept. 30, 2020, unless otherwise noted

Chair: Dale Slack

Chair-Elect: Josephine Townsend

Secretary/Treasurer: Jim Hershey

Immediate Past Chair: Kim Hunter*

Young Lawyer Liaison: Paul Shelton*

Board of Governors Liaison: Kim Hunter*

Committee Members

Three-year term unless otherwise noted

Representing Defense

John Strait (Jan. 2017–Sept. 2020)
Aimee Sutton (Jan. 2017–Sept. 2020)
Adam McGerty (Oct. 2018-Sept. 2021)
Mark E. Vovos (Oct. 2018-Sept. 2021)
Mary Kay High  (Oct. 2019-Sept. 2022)
Edwin Aralica (Oct. 2019–Sept. 2022)

Representing Prosecution

Angelle Marie Gerl (Oct. 2018-Sept. 2020)
Philip Sanchez (Jan. 2017–Sept. 2020)
Amy Jaquette (Oct. 2018-Sept. 2021)
Dale Slack (Oct. 2018-Sept. 2021)
Anita Petra (Oct. 2019–Sept. 2022)
Hugh Birgenheier (Oct. 2019–Sept. 2022)

*Non-voting member


The Executive Committee of the Criminal Law Section conducts meetings from time to time. As meetings are scheduled, details will appear in the events section of this page.

Please contact committee member for any other details on their upcoming meetings and locations.

Join Our List Serve

To join the section list serve and for general questions, please send your email address and Bar number to sections@wsba.org. For more information and to get involved with the section, please contact the section chair, Josephine Townsend.