Updated: April 24, 2018

Family Law Section

The Family Law Section is the principal statewide organization of family law attorneys, and is one of the most active sections in the WSBA. The section is devoted to improving the profession and practice of family law, to the benefit of its members and other family law professionals, the judiciary, and the general public.

Annual Report
Info Sheet

Registration Now Open! Family Law Section Skills Training

Co-Sponsored by Domestic Relations Attorneys of Washington (DRAW)

When: April 13–14, 2018
Where: Yakima, Washington

See the flyer and complete the registration form!

Become a Section Leader: Nominations for Section Executive Committee Open Now!

WSBA Sections provide professional development, education and community through CLEs, events, newsletters, list serve forums and active involvement with the state legislature. Each section is run by a group of volunteers who are elected to serve on the executive committee. Many find leading a section to be a rewarding experience because of the leadership growth, professional development, firsthand experience with the legislative process, and the collegiality it offers. Executive committee discussions are productive and challenging, offering a unique opportunity to work with other legal professionals (even opposing counsel) in a goal-orientated setting that benefits WSBA members and the greater legal community.

The Family Law Section is seeking to fill positions on the Section Executive Committee. If interested, please review the below information and log-in to your MyWSBA profile, select My Profile, and finally select ‘Apply for a Section Executive Committee’ to complete the nomination application. A candidate statement and/or resume may be requested on the application.

Application Information
Nomination Applications Open: April 1, 2018
Nomination Application Deadline: April 15, 2018 

Open Positions & Terms
For more information about the Section and its Executive Committee roles, please review the Section’s bylaws.

  • At-Large Members (five open positions): three-year terms beginning Oct. 1, 2018, and ending Sept. 30, 2021.

Alternate Nomination Process

Per WSBA Bylaws, Sections also have alternate nominations processes, should you miss the deadline to apply online. The Family Law Section process is to be determined.  

Election Information
Section Executive Committee elections will begin on or around May 1, 2018 and be conducted electronically.

Questions? Want to Learn More?
Feel free to contact any member of the current Section Executive Committee or email sections@wsba.org.


Executive Committee

ChairRhea Rolfe
Chair-ElectJames Lutes
SecretaryMark Alexander
Treasurer: Lea Conner
Immediate Past ChairRuth Edlund
Legislative LiaisonPatrick Rawnsley
Young Lawyer Liaison: Vacant
BOG Liaison: Brian Tollefson*


Nancy Koptur
Shelley Brandt
Nancy Hawkins
Jonathan Lee
Patrick Rawnsley
Rhea Rolfe
Lea Conner
Elizabeth Turner
Anne Wakefield
Amir John Showrai
Karen Schweigert
Deanna Rusch
Paul Dinenna
Ann Farnsworth
Monique Gilson-Moreau

*Non-voting member

Please contact subcommittee member for details on their upcoming meeting dates and locations.

The section’s list serve is administered by the Family Law Section. For general section questions, please send your email address and Bar number to sections@wsba.org.