Updated: April 17, 2024

Leaders Wanted

Take Your Seat at the Table!

According to the ABA Center for Bar Leadership, the best governing-board members...

  1. Show up prepared and ready to engage.
  2. Understand the Board's fiduciary and strategic roles.
  3. Engage with members and listen to their perspectives.
  4. Don't dodge difficult issues or decisions.
  5. Put their self-interests last.
  6. Focus on the path forward.

If this describes you, consider submitting an application to serve as a member of the WSBA Board of Governors.

The WSBA Board of Governors focuses on policy, leadership, strategy, and oversight of the organization. Service on the Board requires vision, leadership, diplomacy, and passion in pursuit of the WSBA's mission to serve the public and the members of the WSBA, to ensure the integrity of the legal profession and to champion justice.

Lean about the Governor At Large (Young Lawyer) Applicants


Mary Rathbone has been declared the new Governor of the Congressional District 4 position.

Francis Adewale has been declared the new Governor of the Congressional District 5 position.

Alain Villeneuve has been elected as the new Governor of the Congressional District 7 South position.

The Congressional District 7 South Election closed April 1. View the complete results.

Terms are three years beginning at conclusion of the Sept. 6-7, 2024 meeting of the Board of Governors.


The below candidates will be interviewed and selected during the May 2-3, 2024 meeting of the Board of Governors.

  • President-elect: Francis Adewale
  • District 1: Lester Parvin Price and G. Kim Risenmay
  • Governor At Large (Young Lawyer): TBA

2025 Election Information

The following positions will be open for interested applicants in early 2025.

  • District 1
  • District 2
  • District 9
  • District 10
  • Governor At Large
  • President-elect

More information will be posted online on January 2, 2025. 


The WSBA is committed to full access and participation by persons with disabilities. If you have any questions about accessibility or require accommodation, please contact accomodations@wsba.org and visit our Accommodations page for more information.


Please contact Paris Eriksen, WSBA Volunteer Engagement Advisor, at parise@wsba.org or barleaders@wsba.org.

The WSBA values diversity and inclusion, and encourages Black, indigenous, and people of color; women; people from the LBGTQ communities; people with disabilities; and members of other groups who have been systemically oppressed to apply for our committees, boards, and panels.