Updated: July 16, 2024

Creditor Debtor Rights Section

The Creditor Debtor Rights Section encourages the research, study, and initiation of proposals for changes and reforms in all areas of law that may impact the creditor/debtor relationship. The Section aids and educates members and the public by reviewing pending legislation and development of proposed statutory enactments to improve and to facilitate the administration of justice. Section members represent a diverse array of individuals and businesses who are debtors, debtors-in-possession, secured and unsecured creditors, creditors' committees, receivers, trustees, asset purchasers, and examiners in all facets of creditor-debtor law.

The Section provides benefits to members by developing resources, including a newsletter and bankruptcy case law digest, and sponsoring several CLEs each year. Since 2004, the Section has maintained an annual grants program to financially assist community service programs statewide that provide legal services in the area of creditor/debtor law.

Annual Report  |   Budget  |  Bylaws  |  Year in Review  |  Elections  |  Resources  |  Newsletters

Join Now

Page Navigation

The Creditor Debtor Rights Section offers many resources and benefits for members. On this page you will find information about the section, current newsletter, grants, as well as information about the section's executive committee.

Upcoming Programs

Section Information

Grant Program


Executive Committee

Upcoming Programs

Check back here for the latest in programs and offerings from the Creditor Debtor Rights Section.

Back to top

Section Information

Check back here for updates regarding what the Creditor Debtor Rights Section is doing for its members.

The Fall 2022 Newsletter Is Out Now!

Read it now.


Back to top

Creditor Debtor Rights Grant Program

The Creditor Debtor Rights Section recognizes the importance for all individuals to have access to legal services. Many Section members are actively involved in making their expertise available to low-income individuals, both through direct representation and/or educational programs. While financial constraints and/ or other limitations may deter individuals from seeking legal services, it is important that community services exist to assist with such issues. Established in 2004, the purpose of the Creditor Debtor Rights Section’s Grant Program is to provide financial assistance to the ongoing operation of community service and legal aid programs.

The application deadline has passed for the 2023-2024 grants.

Congratulations to the 2022-2023 grant recipients:

Chelan-Douglas County Volunteer Attorney Services

Cowlitz Wahkiakum Legal Aid


Back to top

Executive Committee

ChairBruce Medeiros (2022-2024)

Chair-Elect: Todd Tracy (2022-2024)

Immediate Past Chair: William Malaier (2022-2024)

Secretary/TreasurerJennifer Faubion (2022-2024)

Young Lawyer Liaison*Nicole Springstroh (2022-2024)

Board of Governors Liaison*Matthew Dresden (2023-2024)

Newsletter Editorial Board Members*
TBD (2023-2025)


*Nonvoting member





Pos. 1, Eastern District:
Jody McCormick (2022-2024)

Pos. 2, Eastern District:
Darren Digiacinto (2022-2024)

Pos. 3, Northern Division of Western District:
Sallye Quinn (2022-2024)

Pos. 4, King County:
Michael Sperry (2022-2024)

Pos. 5, King County:
Christina Henry (2023-2025)

Pos. 6, Southern Division of Western District:
Russell Garrett (2022-2024)

Pos. 7, Southern Division of Western District:
Thomas Dashiell (2023-2025) 

Pos. 8, Eastern Division At-Large:
Rebecca Sheppard (2023-2025)

Pos. 9, Western District At-Large:
David Neu (2023-2025) 

Please contact subcommittee member for details on their upcoming meeting dates and locations.

Join Our List Serve

To join the Section list serve and for general questions, please contact sections@wsba.org. For questions about the Section and to get involved, please contact Section Chair  Bruce Medeiros.


Back to top