Updated: Jan. 18, 2018

Toolkit for Public Service Volunteers

Find out more about earning MCLE credit for volunteering, changing to Emeritus status and RPC 6.1.

ProBonoWA.org

Washington has more than 70 organizations sharing opportunities for you to get involved and give back to your community. Pro Bono WA is a one-stop destination to find and connect with pro bono public service opportunities across the state.

Call to Duty

Serve veterans through the pledge or a Day of Service.

Moderate Means Program

Take a housing, consumer or family law case at a reduced rate and help close the access to justice gap.

Qualified Legal Service Providers

Qualified legal service providers are nonprofit legal service organizations dedicated to serving low income individuals and families. Your pro bono work with any of these organizations can be reported for up to 24 hours of MCLE credit per reporting period.

Learn how to become a qualified legal service provider.

Select a county to view local Qualified Legal Service Providers.

BentonChelanClallam │ ClarkCowlitzDouglas │ IslandJeffersonKingKitsapLewisPierceSkagitSnohomishSpokaneThurston │ Walla WallaWhatcomYakimaMulticounty

 

Benton

Benton-Franklin Legal Aid Society
Barb Otte
509-734-9840
bflegalaid2@ymail.com
418 N. Kellogg St., suite E
Kennewick, WA  99336-4947

 

Chelan

Chelan-Douglas County Volunteer Attorney Services
Eloise Barshes
509-663-2778
edvas@nwi.net 
300 Okanogan Ave., suite 3B
Wenatchee, WA  98801-6940

 

Clallam

Clallam-Jefferson County Pro Bono Lawyers
Shauna Rogers
360-504-2422
probonolawyers@gmail.com
228 W. First St., suite N
Port Angeles, WA  98362

 

Clark

Clark County Volunteer Lawyers Program
Elizabeth Fitzgerald
360-823-0423
elizabethf@ccvlp.org
1409 Franklin St., suite 101
Vancouver, WA  98660-2860

 

Cowlitz

Cowlitz Wahkiakum Legal Aid
Lori Bashor-Sarancik
360-425-2579
cwlap@live.com
1338 Commerce, suite C
Longview, WA  98632

 

Douglas

Chelan-Douglas County Volunteer Attorney Services
Eloise Barshes
509-663-2778
edvas@nwi.net
300 Okanogan Ave., suite 3B
Wenatchee, WA  98801-6940

 

Franklin

Benton-Franklin Legal Aid Society
Barb Otte
509-734-9840
bflegalaid2@ymail.com
418 N. Kellogg St., suite E
Kennewick, WA  99336-4947

 

Island

LAW Advocates
Margaret Delp
delp@whidbey.net

 

Jefferson

Clallam-Jefferson County Pro Bono Lawyers
Shauna Rogers
360-504-2422
probonolawyers@gmail.com
228 W. First St., suite N
Port Angeles, WA  98362

Center for Children & Youth Justice,
Lawyers Fostering Independence

Laurel Simonsen
lsimonsen@ccyj.org
206-696-7503, ext. 24
615 Second Ave., suite 275
Seattle, WA  98104

International Refugee Assistance Project – Seattle University Law School Chapter
206-398-4000 
901 12th Ave.
P.O. Box 222000
Seattle, WA 98122-1090

King County Bar Association, Pro Bono Services
Anne Daly
206-267-7100, ext. 7018
anned@kcba.org
1200 Fifth Ave., suite 700
Seattle, WA  98101-1188

Legal Action Center
Mark Chattin
206-328-5943
markrc@ccsww.org
100 23rd Ave. S.
Seattle, WA  98144-2302

Open Door Legal Services
David Mace
206-682-4642

dmace@ugm.org

PO Box 14165
Seattle, WA  98114-0165

Public Defender Association
Julia Jacobs
206-392-0050, ext. 750
julia.jacobs@defender.org
810 Third Ave., suite 705
Seattle, WA 98104

Seattle Community Law Center
Alex Doolittle
206-686-7252, Ext. 2
alex@seattlecommlaw.org
1404 E. Yesler Way, suite 203
Seattle, WA 98122-5579

Solid Ground, Benefits Legal Assistance
Sara Robbins
sarar@solid-ground.org
206-694-6741
1501 N. 45th St.
Seattle, WA  98103-6708

YWCA Sexual Violence Legal Service
Riddhi Mukhopadhyay
206-832-3632
riddhim@ywcaworks.org
2024 3rd Ave
Seattle, WA 98121

Eastside Legal Assistance Program
Cynthia Klein
cynthia@elap.org
425-747-7274, ext. 205
P.O. Box 286
Bellevue, WA 98007

KIND – Kids in Need of Defense
Juliann Bildhauer
206-359-6200
Juliann@supportkind.org
1201 Third Ave., suite 4800
Seattle, WA  98101-3266

Latina/Latino Bar Association of Washington

clinics@lbaw.org

 

Lavender Rights Project
Morgan Mentzer and Lucas Cuellar
206-639-7955
info@lavenderrightsproject.org
2425 Sixth Ave. S.
Seattle, WA 98134

Native American Law Center/Tribal Public Defense Clinic
Laura Vander Pol
206-685-3253
nalc@uw.edu
P.O. Box 353020
Seattle, WA  98195-3020

Olympic Legal Access, P.S.
Kimberly Loges
425-977-3168
kimberly@olympiclegalaccess.org  
1752 NW Market St., suite 705
Seattle, WA 98107

Seattle Clemency Project
Jennifer Smith
206-276-6026

jennifer@seattleclemencyproject.org

1126 34th Ave., #314
Seattle, WA 98122

Seattle University School of Law Peterson Law Clinic
Paul Michael Holland
206-398-4130
1112 E. Columbia St.
Seattle, WA  98122-4458

University of Washington School of Law Federal Tax Clinic

John Clynch

206-685-6805

litc@uw.edu

P.O. Box 85110
Seattle, WA  98145-1110

Wayfind
Jodi Nishioka
866-288-9695
contact@wayfindlegal.org
P.O. Box 2134
Seattle, WA 98111

 

Kitsap

Kitsap Legal Services
Philip Wade, Executive Director
360-373-0086
Volunteer@KitsapLegalServices.org
920 Park Ave.
P.O. Box 1446
Bremerton, WA  98337

 

Lewis

Lewis County Bar Legal Aid
Carolyn Hipps
360-748-9884
lclegalaid_cah@localaccess.com
P.O. Box 117
Chehalis, WA  98532-0117

KIND – Kids in Need of Defense
Juliann Bildhauer
206-359-6200
Juliann@supportkind.org
1201 Third Ave., suite 4800
Seattle, WA  98101-3266

Tacoma-Pierce County Bar Association
Volunteer Legal Services Program

Laurie Davenport
253-572-5134
vls@tacomaprobono.org
621 Tacoma Ave. S., suite 303
Tacoma, WA  98402-2330

Lavender Rights Project
Morgan Mentzer and Lucas Cuellar
206-639-7955
info@lavenderrightsproject.org
2425 Sixth Ave. S.
Seattle, WA 98134

 

Skagit County

Skagit County Volunteer Lawyer Program
Maren Anderson
360-416-7585
marena@communityactionskagit.org
330 Pacific Place
P.O. Box 1507
Mount Vernon, WA  98273-1507

KIND – Kids in Need of Defense
Juliann Bildhauer
206-359-6200
Juliann@supportkind.org
1201 Third Ave., suite 4800
Seattle, WA  98101-3266

Snohomish County Legal Services
Benjamin J. Haslam
425-258-9283
benjaminh@snocolegal.org
P.O. Box 5675
Everett, WA  98206-5675

Olympic Legal Access, P.S.
Rebecca Sells
425-582-8928
info@olympiclegalaccess.org
4100 194th St. SW, suite 215
Lynnwood, WA 98036

YWCA Sexual Violence Legal Service
Riddhi Mukhopadhyay
206-832-3632
riddhim@ywcaworks.org
2024 3rd Ave
Seattle, WA 98121

Center For Justice
Rick Eichstaedt
509-835-5211
ricke@cforjustice.org
35 W. Main Ave.
Spokane, WA  99201-0109

Federal Tax Clinic, University Legal Assistance
Jennifer A. Gellner, LL.M
509-313-5791
P.O. Box 3528
Spokane, WA  99220-3528

YWCA Alternatives to Domestic Violence
Catherine Anderson, Senior Staff Attorney
509-326-1190
crissya@ywcaspokane.org
30 N. Monroe
Spokane, WA  99201

Family Law Domestic Violence Clinic
University Legal Assistance
509-323-5791
ghammer@lawschool.gonzaga.edu
P.O. Box 3528, Spokane, WA  99220

Spokane County Bar Association
Volunteer Lawyers Program

Dee Cook, 509-443-3457
dcook@spokanebar.org
1704 W. Broadway Ave.
Spokane, WA  99201-1818

KIND – Kids in Need of Defense
Juliann Bildhauer
206-359-6200
Juliann@supportkind.org
1201 Third Ave., suite 4800
Seattle, WA  98101-3266
sking@spokanebar.org

Thurston County Volunteer Legal Services
Rachael Langen Lundmark
360-705-8194
director@tcvls.org
P.O. Box 405
Olympia, WA  98507-0405

 

Walla Walla

Blue Mountain Action Council Volunteer Attorney Program
Veaney Martinez
509-529-4980, ext. 126
veaneym@bmacww.org
1520 Kelly Place, suite 140
Walla Walla, WA  99363

 

Whatcom

LAW Advocates
Michael Heatherly
360-671-6079
michaelh@lawadvocates.org
P.O. Box 937
Bellingham, WA  98227-0937

 

Yakima

Yakima County Volunteer Attorney Services
Anita Garcia
yakimavas@yakimavas.org
509-453-4400
818 W. Yakima Ave.
Yakima, WA  98902

Columbia Legal Services
Merf Ehman
206-464-1122
merf.ehman@ColumbiaLegal.org
101 Yesler Way, suite 300
Seattle, WA  98104-2528

Innocence Project Northwest Clinic
Kate Huber
206-616-8008
krhuber@uw.edu
P.O. Box 85110
Seattle, WA 98145-1110

Latina/Latino Bar Association of Washington
clinics@lbaw.org

Northwest Consumer Law Center
Noah Samuels
206-805-0989
Noah@NWCLC.org
214 E. Galer Street, Suite 100
Seattle, WA 98102

Northwest Justice Project
Julie Rattray
206-464-1519

webmaster@nwjustice.org.
401 Second Ave. S.,  suite 407
Seattle, WA  98104-3811

TeamChild
Anne Lee
206-322-2444
anne.lee@teamchild.org
1225 S. Weller St., suite 420
Seattle, WA  98144-1906

Unemployment Law Project
John Tirpak, Executive Director
206-441-9178
jtirpak@ulproject.org
1904 Third Ave., Suite 604
Seattle, WA  98101-1160

Dependency CASA Program
Janet Harris
206-205-9701
BEaCASA@kingcounty.gov
1401 E. Jefferson St., suite 500
Seattle, WA  98122-5574

KIND – Kids in Need of Defense
Juliann Bildhauer
206-359-6200
Juliann@supportkind.org
1201 Third Ave., suite 4800
Seattle, WA  98101-3266

Northwest Immigrant Rights Project
Jordan Wasserman
206-957-8632
jordan@nwirp.org
615 Second Ave., Suite 400
Seattle, WA 98104

Olympic Legal Access, P.S.
Rebecca Sells 
425-582-8928
info@olympiclegalaccess.org
4100 194th St. SW, suite 215
Lynnwood, WA 98036

Thurston County Volunteer Legal Services
Rachael Langen Lundmark
360-705-8194
director@tcvls.org 
P.O. Box 405
Olympia, WA  98507-0405

Washington Defender Association
Christie Hedman
206-623-4321
email contact form
810 Third Ave., suite 800
Seattle, WA  98104-1695

Become a QLSP

To become a Qualified Legal Service Provider, an organization must meet these five criteria:

  • Must be a not-for-profit legal services organization whose primary purpose is to provide legal services to low-income clients, per APR 1(e)(8).
  • Must have a financial screening mechanism in place to ensure clients are low-income.
  • Must either provide malpractice insurance for volunteers or have a policy in place to require that all volunteers carry their own malpractice insurance.
  • Ensure volunteers receive at least two hours of relevant training.
  • Must be in Washington state or predominantly serve Washington state residents.

If your program meets the criteria, please submit a one page letter addressing how your organization qualifies and send to publicservice@wsba.org. for review. Including a program brochure or link to your organization is recommended.