Updated: June 28, 2018

Indian Law Section

The Indian Law Section provides a forum for practitioners representing clients affected by Indian law. Federal, tribal, and state laws; executive and administrative actions; and court decisions produce a complex and rapidly evolving array of law that affects legal services. The Section schedules CLE programs on subjects that provide information to practitioners representing clients affected by Indian law. Section members also receive a newsletter highlighting recent developments in Indian law.
Annual Report
Info Sheet

Section Executive Committee Elections

Voting closed on May 31 at 5 p.m. in the Indian Law Section Executive Committee elections. Here are the newly-elected members, with terms beginning on Oct. 1, 2018.

Chair-Elect: Ann Tweedy

Secretary: Maryann Mohan

At-Large Member (1 year term): Felecia Shue

At-Large Member (3 year term): Amy Lettig

At-Large Member (3 year term): Daniel Rey-Bear

At-Large Member (3 year term): Jennifer Yogi

Thank you to all of the candidates!

Submissions Welcome – Indian Law Section Newsletter

If you are interested in submitting an article or items for "Indian Lawyers in the News" for the Indian Law Newsletter, please call or email 206.321.2672 or anthony@galandabroadman.com.

Indian Legal Scholars Program

Over the past few years, the WSBA Indian Law Section and its sister group, the Northwest Indian Bar Association, have joined together to create the Indian Legal Scholars Program. Together, these entities have raised and contributed over $100,000 in scholarships to aspiring Indian lawyers from Washington, Oregon, Idaho, and Alaska. In 2004, the American Bar Association recognized the program with its "Solo and Small Firm Project Award."

The program's goal of nourishing future Indian lawyers is of particular importance when considered against statewide and national research findings. Indians are by far the most under-represented ethnic demographic in the legal profession. Indian attorneys comprise a fraction of 1% of Washington state's 29,000 licensed attorneys. Nationally, of the 1 million practicing lawyers in the U.S. and the 4.1 million people who identify themselves as Native American, there are only 1,700 indigenous practitioners (2000 Census).

The scholarship funds come from membership dues and generous charitable grants from the Chehalis, Jamestown S'Klallam, Lummi, Muckleshoot, Port Gamble S'Klallam, Puyallup, Squaxin Island, Suquamish, Swinomish, and Tulalip tribes.

Stipends to Prepare for the Bar Exam

As one of the program's valuable offerings, the WSBA Indian Law Section and the Northwest Indian Bar Association each year match fiscal resources to provide stipends to several Indian students preparing for the summer bar exam. Beginning with the 2010 winter bar exam and for the first time, stipends were awarded to students preparing for the winter bar exam.

For questions about the Indian Legal Scholars Program or its bar exam stipends, please contact Gabe Galanda at 206-628-2780 or ggalanda@williamskastner.com.


Spring 2017
Summer 2016
Fall 2015
Spring 2015

Archived issues are available to section members upon request. To request an issue, please email sections@wsba.org.

Executive Committee

ChairClaire Newman
Chair-ElectBrie Coyle-Jones
Secretary/TreasurerAnn Tweedy
Immediate Past ChairDiana Bob
Newsletter EditorAnthony Broadman*
Young Lawyer Liaison: Vacant
BOG LiaisonAngela Hayes*


Rebecca Jackson (2018)
Lauren Rasmussen (2018)
Rachel Saimons (2018)
Brook Pinkham (2020)
Mary Neil (2020)
Juliana Repp (2020)
Tom Schlosser (2019)
Lori Guevara (2019)
Mayanne Mohan (2019)

*Non-voting member

Please contact subcommittee member for details on their upcoming meeting dates and locations.

To join the Section list serve and for general Section questions, please send your email address and Bar number to sections@wsba.org. For more information and to get involved with the Section, please contact Section Chair Claire Newman.