Updated: Aug. 21, 2018

Each year the WSBA honors the achievements of the state-wide legal community through its annual awards program. Nominations are submitted outlining the marvelous work being done across Washington to serve the legal needs of the public and the local community. The WSBA awards committee carefully reviews each nomination, and recipients are selected. It is a humbling task to choose only one winner in each award category. 

Thank you for joining us on September 18 at the Sheraton Metropolitan Ballroom to honor these inspiring individuals and their amazing accomplishments!

Meet the 2014 Award Winners

Award of Merit - Eric M. Pedersen, Seattle

This award is the WSBA's highest honor. and is given for a recent, singular achievement. It is awarded to individuals only — both lawyers and non-lawyers.

Lifetime Service Award - James A. Vander Stoep (posthumous), Chehalis

This award is a special award given for a lifetime of service to the legal community and the public.

Professionalism Award - Laura Anglin, Olympia

This honor is awarded to a WSBA member who exemplifies the spirit of professionalism in the practice of law, as defined in the WSBA's Creed of Professionalism.

Outstanding Judge Award - Hon. James M. Riehl, Port Orchard

This award is presented for outstanding service to the bench and for special contribution to the legal profession at any level of the court.

Pro Bono Award - Gene Siple, Pullman

This award is presented to a lawyer, non-lawyer, law firm, or bar association for outstanding cumulative efforts in providing pro bono services.

Public Service Award - Deborah Perluss, Seattle

This award recognizes a WSBA member who exemplifies the WSBA's culture of service: one who gives back in meaningful ways to others, to his/her community, or to the profession.

Courageous Award - Shirley Bondon, Olympia

This award is presented to an individual who has displayed exceptional courage in the face of adversity, thus bringing credit to the legal profession.

Excellence in Diversity Award - Gabriel S. Galanda, Seattle

This award is made to a lawyer, law firm, or law-related group that has made a significant contribution to diversity in the legal profession.

Outstanding Young Lawyer Award - Alicia R. Levy, Spokane

This award recognizes one attorney who has made significant contributions to the professional community, especially the community of young lawyers, within their initial years of practice.  Recipients must be active WSBA members within five years of admission to any bar association or under 36 years of age.

Sally P. Savage Leadership in Philanthropy Award - Ronald R. Ward, Seattle 

This award is presented jointly by the Washington State Bar Foundation and the Washington State Bar.

Sally Savage led the Bar Foundation’s renaissance and was a catalyst for its refocused mission to sustain the WSBA’s effort to advance justice and diversity. Sally Savage emulated the spirit of philanthropy in her life, and it is in her memory that we continue to honor donors, volunteers, and friends of the Washington State Bar Foundation who embody Sally’s spirit.

President's Award - Dan Lear, Seattle
The President's Award may be given annually by the President in recognition of a person’s or entity’s contribution to the WSBA and/or profession for which the president deems worthy of acknowledgement during his/her term.

Thank You to Our Sponsors

WSBA would like to thank our sponsors for the generous support of this year’s event:

Flinn Ferguson — Presenting Counsel Sponsor
Naegeli Deposition and Trial — Legal Luminary Table Sponsor
BECU Trust Services — Photo Booth Sponsor
Association of Corporate Counsel, WA Chapter — Legal Luminary Table Sponsor