Updated: April 15, 2024

The 2016 APEX Award Recipients

Congratulations to the 2016 recipients of the WSBA APEX Awards!

The awards dinner was held Thursday, Sept. 29, 2016, at the Seattle Sheraton.

Award of Merit

Matthew H. Adams – Northwest Immigrant Rights Project, Seattle. Watch his video.

Courageous Award

Three King County public defender death penalty teams:
Leo Hamaji, William Prestia, Kathryn Ross – Public Defender Association
Todd Gruenhagen, Carl Luer, Stacey MacDonald – Associated Counsel for the Accused
Colleen O'Connor, David Sorenson – Society of Counsel Representing Accused Persons. Watch their video.

Excellence in Diversity Award

Chalia Stallings-Ala'ilima – Office of the Attorney General of Washington State, Seattle. Watch her video.

Norm Maleng Leadership Award 
presented jointly with the Access to Justice Board to...

Michele Storms – University of Washington School of Law, Seattle. Watch her video.

Outstanding Judge Award

Hon. Kathleen M. O'Connor (ret.), Spokane. Watch her video.

Outstanding Young Lawyer

Veronica Quinonez – Veronica Quinonez Law, Tukwila. Watch her video.

Pro Bono Awards

Perkins Coie & Microsoft, Seattle & Redmond. Watch their video.
David A. Bateman – K&L Gates LLP, Seattle. Watch his video.

Professionalism Award

Anthony R. Hinson, Poulsbo. Watch his video.

Public Service Award

Adam Cornell – Snohomish County Prosecutor's Office, Everett. Watch his video.

Sally P. Savage Leadership in Philanthropy Award
Presented by the Washington State Bar Foundation to...

Our three Washington law schools: Gonzaga University School of Law, Seattle University School of Law, and 
University of Washington School of Law. Watch their video.

Award Categories

Award of Merit
This award is the WSBA's highest honor and is given for a recent, singular achievement. It is awarded to individuals only — both lawyers and non-lawyers.

Courageous Award
This award is presented to an individual who has displayed exceptional courage in the face of adversity, thus bringing credit to the legal profession.

Excellence in Diversity Award
This award is made to a lawyer, law firm, or law-related group that has made a significant contribution to diversity in the legal profession.

Lifetime Service Award
This award is a special award given for a lifetime of service to the legal community and the public.

Pro Bono Award
This award is presented to a lawyer, non-lawyer, law firm, or bar association for outstanding cumulative efforts in providing pro bono services.

Professionalism Award
This honor is awarded to a WSBA member who exemplifies the spirit of professionalism in the practice of law, as defined in the WSBA's Creed of Professionalism.

Public Service Award
This award recognizes a WSBA member who exemplifies the WSBA's culture of service: one who gives back in meaningful ways to others, to his/her community, or to the profession.

Outstanding Judge Award
This award is presented for outstanding service to the bench and for special contribution to the legal profession at any level of the court.

Outstanding Young Lawyer Award
This award recognizes one attorney who has made significant contributions to the professional community, especially the community of young lawyers, within their initial years of practice. Recipients must be active WSBA members within five years of admission to any bar association or under 36 years of age.

Norm Maleng Leadership Award
This award is given jointly by the WSBA and the Access to Justice Board, in honor of Norm Maleng's legacy as a leader. He was an innovative and optimistic leader committed to justice and access to justice in both civil and criminal settings. Within the profession, his leadership was characterized by his love of the law and commitment to diversity and mentorship. This award recognizes those who embody these qualities.

Angelo Petruss Award for Lawyers in Government Service
Named in honor of Angelo R. Petruss, a senior assistant attorney general who passed away during his term of service on the WSBA Board of Governors, this award is given to a lawyer in government service who has made a significant contribution to the legal profession, the justice system, and the public.

Sally P. Savage Leadership in Philanthropy Award
The Washington State Bar Foundation is accepting nominations for the Sally P. Savage Leadership in Philanthropy Award, to be awarded at the WSBA Annual Award dinner in September 2016.

Sally Savage led the Bar Foundation’s renaissance and was a catalyst for its refocused mission to sustain the WSBA’s effort to advance justice and diversity. Her clarity, expertise and vision helped establish a path for enduring support of a strong bar association that provides statewide leadership on matters of profound importance to the profession and the citizenry. Sally’s spirit of generosity and leadership continue to inspire all who recognize the transformative potential of philanthropy. Philanthropy means “love of humanity” and focuses on private initiatives for the public good, focusing on quality of life. Sally Savage emulated this spirit of philanthropy in her life, and it is in her memory that we continue to honor donors, volunteers and friends of the Washington State Bar Foundation who embody Sally’s spirit.