Updated: July 8, 2022

Real Property, Probate and Trust Section

The Real Property, Probate, and Trust Section assists members in achieving the highest standards of competence, professionalism, and ethics in their practices. The Section is composed of legal professionals whose practices span the areas of real property, trusts, and estates. The Section’s governance structure includes two separate councils: the Real Property Council and the Probate and Trust Council.

The Section provides benefits to members by annually sponsoring several CLEs in each discipline, as well as hosting an annual midyear meeting with both joint and concurrent presentations. The Section produces a number of newsletters each year with in-depth articles on recent developments, pending legislation, and case law updates. The Section hosts an active website and list serve for each discipline providing numerous resources and current information. The Section also assists the legislature in the enactment and improvement of the laws affecting real property, probate, trusts, and estates, and assists the judiciary in the just administration of those laws.

Annual Report  |  Budget  |  Bylaws  |  Year in Review

Join Now

Congratulations, Incoming Executive Committee Members!

Below are the results of the Real Property, Probate and Trust Section Executive Committee election. Thank you for voting! 

For more information about the section and its executive committee roles, please review the Section's bylaws. Winners are listed alphabetically by position. 

Real Property Council Director: remainder of term ending Sept. 30, 2023.

Nathan Smith 

Probate and Trust Council Director: two-year position beginning Oct. 1, 2022, and ending Sept. 30, 2024.

Jessica Aurelia Carr 

Probate and Trust Council Member (two positions open): two-year position beginning Oct. 1, 2022, and ending Sept. 30, 2024.

Hans Juhl 

Saul Tilden 

Real Property Council Member (two positions open): two-year position beginning Oct. 1, 2022, and ending Sept. 30, 2024.

Emily Harfouche 

John Sharp 

Questions? Contact sections@wsba.org.

Member Benefits

Find more information and member benefits on the RPPT website.

The Section's two list serves are administered by the Real Property, Probate and Trust Section. If you are a section member, you can subscribe by visiting the the RPPT Section's website and clicking the "For Members" tab. Look for the list serve tab. Please enter your RPPT section login credentials to access this page and on the page you will see instructions for subscribing to the list serves.

* Please note that some member benefits are password protected. Please contact the section's webmaster to receive the password.

Executive Committee

Chair: Tiffany Gorton (2021-2022) 

Secretary/Treasurer: Devin McComb (2021-2022) 

Immediate Past Chair: Brian Lewis (2021-2022) 

Young Lawyer Liaison*: Harman K. Bual (2020-2022) 

Board of Governors Liaison*: Brent Williams-Ruth (2021-2022)

*Non-voting member


Emeritus*: Michael Barrett

Webpage Editor*Michael Safren

Assistant Webpage Editor*:
Stephen R. King

Newsletter Editor*: Jessica Cohen

Assistant Newsletter Editor*: Sharon Rutberg

Fellows* (Real Property):
Keaton Hille
Tom Lee

Fellows* (Probate and Trust):
Manpreet Kaur
Yonicio Hernandez

Probate and Trust Council

Director: Anna Cashman 
Maggie Lassen (2020-2022)
Lindsey Weidenbach (2020-2022)
Allison Foreman (2021-2023) 
Ryan Montgomery (2021-2023) 

Real Property Council

DirectorNathan Smith
Chris Benis (2020-2022)
Keaton Hille (2020-2022)
Bryce Dille (2021-2023) 
Jessica Cohen (2021-2023) 


Please contact committee member for details on their upcoming meeting dates and locations.

For general Section questions, send your email address and Bar number to sections@wsba.org. For more information and to get involved with the Section, please contact Section Chair Brian Lewis.